top of page

These Seven States are Sending Out Stimulus Payments in August

Although the federal government will not be issuing another stimulus check, seven states are preparing to send out inflation relief payments this month. (AP Photo/Matt Rourke, File) AP

by: Taniesa Sullivan -

Seven states are preparing to send out direct payments to their residents to provide inflation relief as Americans struggle to pay the rising costs of food, gas, and housing.

Here are the states which will be sending out stimulus payments to their residents as soon as this month.

The states included are Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Indiana, Minnesota, and New Mexico.


In May, Delaware began sending “relief rebate” payments of $300 to taxpayers who filed a return in 2020 due to a budget surplus.

Most Delaware residents received these payments in May, and couples filing jointly can get $300 each. The state government is continuing to send these payments out throughout the summer.

Residents can check the status of their rebates online here.


In July, Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis announced that 59,000 low-income families in the state would qualify for a one-time payment of $450 per child.

According to Newsweek, the stimulus is being distributed through the Florida Department of Children and Families to residents “who receive one of the following services through the department:

  • Temporary cash assistance (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families)

  • Relative/non-relative caregiver funds

  • Has an adoptive and/or foster child in the household”

Families that qualify for the benefit do not have to apply as the payments are automatically mailed out.


Gov. Brian Kemp signed legislation to give out rebate payments of $250 for single filers, $375 for heads of household, and $500 for those filing jointly.

This stimulus package also came from a budget surplus in the state.

The Georgia Department of Revenue has been giving out these rebates since May, but the agency has been anticipating delays due to the amount of refunds.

According to the department website, the agency will issue most refunds by early August for all tax returns filed by April 18 of this year.


Residents whose income fell under $100,000 in 2021, or $200,000 for joint filers, will receive a $300 tax rebate this year. Dependents will also be eligible for the rebate. For those residents making more than $100,000, or $200,000 for joint filers, they will receive a one-time $100 check.

Payments will be mailed out as soon as late August, according to Hawaii’s Department of Taxation.


Beginning in May, Indiana began sending $125 payments to all residents regardless of income. According to The Indianapolis Star, this is part of the state’s automatic taxpayer refund law.

Gov. Eric Holcomb is also urging state lawmakers to up the stimulus package by $225.


Frontline workers in Minnesota qualify to receive a one-time payment of $750. Checks began going out in late July, but applications for this stimulus were due by July 22.

New Mexico

In early March, Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham approved a measure that would give residents $250 for earning less than $75,000 a year and a $500 rebate for all residents.

The $250 rebates were issued in July while the $500 rebate will be sent in two payments — one occurred in June, and the other will occur this month. (

Continue to follow The Weekly Ledger News for all your up-to-date, local, and breaking news. Don't forget to download our mobile app by going to our main page and signing up there to never miss the latest news updates.

Do you have a news tip you would like to share with The Weekly Ledger News? Contact us anytime at our confidential tip line or email at 256-438-1288, or email them at

Our investigative reporters would love to hear from you!

105 views0 comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page